Resolutions

Opening gifts and Grandpa and Grandma's

 

I hope Christmas was a happy time for you, restful and homey and comforting and loving. I love getting together with family and laughing and eating. In fact, I still have two more Christmases to go through before everything’s said and done! Our little family opened up presents on Christmas Eve since Luke had to work Christmas and I was not getting up at 4 am just to open presents and have crabby kids for the rest of the day. Titus scored with a Hot Wheels track (he was so very excited), Ethan and Caleb each came away with a pair of skis, I got some much needed dishes (gotta love stoneware) and I managed to surprise Luke with a Blackberry. It’s always so much fun to watch people open their gifts.

Now it is on to the New Year. And with a New Year comes resolutions. Yes, those things that I say I will do and then don’t. But this year I’m keeping them! Really! And if I don’t, I officially give you permission to bug me about it. But not too much, because I have a guilt complex to start with.

1. Lose weight. I know, cliche of all cliches, but something needs to be done. I’ve gained 4 pounds a year since I’ve been married. I’ve been married 12 years. Not good. Not only is it not healthy, but I need to be able to keep up to these energy-filled children that have come along since then. Last year was looking good after I started the marathon training but the shin splints and knees knocked me out and kept me on the sidelines. I’m pretty sure there is some statistic that tells you 99.99% of those start this at the beginning of the New Year fail, but I’m willing to take my chances.

2. Learn how to use my camera better. All the photos I took during Christmas – fuzzy. Soooo frustrating.

3. Get my housework done in the morning. Why oh why is that so hard? And yet it is.

4. Finish at least one project a month, whether it be knitting or sewing related. I don’t know why, but that seems to make me feel good.

OK, that’s it. I think it is probably enough. Do you do resolutions? Or am I the only sucker trying to turn my life upside down and inside out?

2 thoughts on “Resolutions

  1. Eeeps… I suck at resolutions. Alright, let’s be honest and optimistic. My goal is to still fit the pants I’m wearing at the end of 2009. I know that’s possible… but I’d also like to start buying clothes that actually fit me really well, instead of bargain 2nd hand jobbies that are “pretty close”. I’d like to know my Bible better than I do this year… and I’d like to open it at least 4 times a week… for starters. 🙂 I’d like to get my boys memorizing more verses again… with retainment and comprehension as the key there. Good luck with the rest of your list! Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

